top of page

Greyhawk for Labyrinth Lord: Races

Image by © Dean Spencer used with permission

The first step I took when building my new Greyhawk campaign was to take a look at the races available to player characters. The D&D "base campaign" has always had character race options about what you'd expect: humans, elves, half-elves, dwarves, gnomes, halflings, and half-orcs. Later editions, splatbooks, and third-party resources added a bunch of other options, but that's what you'd find n the 1st edition Player's Handbook and just about every OSR offering that's come out of it. Greyhawk had all of these, of course, but the real money was on the sub-races. That's where you get campaign specific.

In this series of articles, I'll share what I've done with Greyhawk race options for player characters using the Advanced Labyrinth Lord game (found at that link). That's the default game at my home table, unless we're playing Shadowdark...I've also converted the Greyhawk races to Shadowdark ancestries, but that's a different set of articles!

These races for Labyrinth Lord don't change mechanically, but get some updated lore and available classes.

These sub-races were added:

In addition, I updated some classes for Labyrinth Lord (also another set of articles coming soon):

  • Cleric, Druid, Fighter, Paladin, Thief, Assassin, Magic-user, Illusionist -- No change other than advanced hit dice.

  • Ranger -- Removed.

  • Monk -- Removed (for now)

  • Knight, Barbarian, Warden, Bard -- Added!

So, tune in and check out the character race options to come. First up is the Grey Dwarf, the enigmatic duergar!

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page